So I'm a big fat noob at regular expresions

I’m not that very experienced at coding and want to know how to use regular expressions. If anybody’s wondering, I’m using JS but knowing how to use them in the Find and Search bar would help too (I don’t know if this makes a difference but yeah).

Regex is pretty simple once you break it into parts. First of all, if you want to test a regular expression, try regex101.com. It allows you to write the expressions, test them under different runtimes, export code, and write unit tests.

There are a few basic concepts in regex. First of all, groups. Opening and closing parentheses denote the beginning and end of a “group.” One of the most common uses for groups is “capturing groups.” Say you want to find all occurrences of “cloud9” in a paragraph, and see what the next word is. Here’s our paragraph:

Cloud9 is available at c9.io. AWS Cloud9 was also recently released.

You can use the following regular expression to find the example above:

/cloud9\s(\w*)/ig

This looks complicated, but we can break it down into pieces:

/
cloud9\s
(\w*)
/ig