Running a Rails App

Cloud9 IDE also supports the ability to run a Rails application. The rails command is only available on the terminal.

To run a Rails application:

1. Open the terminal and type gem install rails
  2. When done, type rails new example -d mysql
  3. Edit your database configuration in config/database.yml
  4. Type rails s -b $IP -p $PORT

That’s it! Your rails app will now be running.

Note: should be running your application.

Do not try to access the project through the IP address and port number rails returns to you–it won’t work!

Use MySQL in your rails app

1. Set up MySQL - note your DB connect parameters

2. Open the terminal and type gem install mysql2

3. edit config/database.yml

adapter: mysql2
  encoding: utf8
  database: c9
  username: <%=ENV['C9_USER']%>
  host: <%=ENV['IP']%>

Config/database.yml not detected RoR
Using MYSQL in rails app
Tutorials - Table of Contents
Running Wrong Application

Hello Brady Dowling,

I am new to using Rails combined with mysql.

This question is about the different environments. I have edited config/database.yml as described and the well-know “Yay! You’re on Rails!” can be seen in my browser now.
( somewhat confusing; since some place else I read that mysql-ctl start was necessary. Is it, or is it not necessary at the start of a project? )

But this is only for development; what to do for :test and :production environments?
Especially a test environment is very necessary, to do Test Driven Development…

Is it OK to use the same setup for a test environment? I am not sure, since I recall having read somewhere that they can’t be the same!

Extra information: I searched, came here and discovered this support page. But the direct motivation was, that I could not run tests.

The error message is:

ActiveRecord::StatementInvalid: Mysql2::Error: Table ‘’ doesn’t exist: DELETE FROM recipes

I thought there should be a test-table ; build from the contents of the file /test/fixtures/recipes.yml.