MySQL won't run or restart

workspace
mysql

I’m having trouble getting MySQL to run on my workspace. I’m trying to run a Wordpress site and have tried several fixes found within this community forum, with no luck.

I’ve tried restarting MySQL by running “service mysql restart” and I get the following:

• Stopping MySQL database server mysqld [ OK ]
    df: ‘/var/lib/mysql/.’: Permission denied
  • /etc/init.d/mysql: ERROR: The partition with /var/lib/mysql is too full!

My workspace is only using 96MB / 2048MB, so I’m not sure how it could be too full to run. I’ve also tried reinstalling MySQL, restarting the workspace, and cloning the workspace, but I still can’t get MySQL to run.

Has anyone been able to solve this issue? Please keep in mind, I’m a total newbie when it comes to this server stuff.

A quick follow up to this—I checked the disk space available in the directory by entering “df -h /var/lib/mysql” and received the following result:

Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
none 2.2G 84M 2.0G 5% /

From this result it looks like I’ve only used up 5%, but I could be missing something here.

Try starting stopping this with sudo permissions?

I tried a series of commands using sudo. All of these returned various errors. Here’s what I entered and received:

$ sudo mysql-ctl start
* Starting MySQL database server mysqld
   ...fail!

$ sudo mysql-ctl restart
* Stopping MySQL database server mysqld
   ...done.
   ...fail!

$ sudo mysql start
ERROR 2002 (HY000): Cant connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock' (2)

$ sudo mysql restart
ERROR 2002 (HY000): Cant connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock' (2)

$ sudo service mysql start
   ...fail!

$ sudo service mysql restart
* Stopping MySQL database server mysqld
   ...done.
   ...fail!

Does anyone have any other suggestions? Any help would be much appreciated.