Is the general rule: one workspace per one repo?

hey all! quick question:

is it a best practice for me to create a new workspace everytime i clone a repo from github? is the general rule: one workspace per one repo?

right now, i have about 4 workspaces up and running, representing the 4 repo’s i’ve created/cloned thus far.

and i’m tempted to consolidate everything into 1 workspace, and putting each of my repos in its own directory.

but i fear that’ll give me the “repo within a repo” problem that i was warned not to do. (i’m a new developer and learning how to program).

what’s the rule of thumb about whether i should create a new workspace in cloud9 whenever i clone/create a r?

thank you in advance for your help :0)

In my opinion, the easiest way with c9 is to have one repo per workspace. Then you don’t have any issues of dependencies between different projects, and they stay self-contained. You can create another instance at the click of a button, and have a clean workspace ready to go which helps. It’s one of the many advantages of a cloud based IDE.

Of course, I might be slightly biased.

hey @mutahhir here’s my thread with my question. thanks again!

I agree with @justin8 that one repo per workspace is a very cool experience.

Creating a workspace for a repo is like having a laptop just for working on a specific project, and then switching laptops to work on another workspace. Which is awesome, and Cloud9 lets you do that with a click of a button.

In some scenarios, however, you might want to work on multiple projects at the same time. For example, you’re developing a web service, and a command line app that need to talk with one another. Although they are part of the same project, they might have separate repositories, and different people working on them.

What’s the best way to proceed in that scenario?