AWS Cloud9 has launched!

We have just launched AWS Cloud9 at re:Invent 2017! You can read our official announcement and FAQs here.

Let us know if you have any questions in the thread; we’ll be keeping an eye out!

Got questions specific to AWS Cloud9’s functionality? We recommend using the AWS Cloud9 Forums

EXISTING c9.io USERS: You can log in here: https://c9.io/login

The end of Cloud9
Using Cloud9 on a shared hosting site?

Congrats on this. Awesome for Cloud9.

I’m a professor that has used Cloud9 to provide class materials to students.
Previously, it was very easy for students to be able to signup for an account and get access to a free container with their class materials.

Now, I’m assuming that every student will have to be an IAM user in an AWS accout in order to clone a container. Is this correct? Also, I’m assuming this does away with the free access for students, in which case, I’ll probably need to find a different solution.

All the best,
Mike Dunn

If we’re not already using AWS and don’t need access to AWS resources, does AWS Cloud9 offer any benefits over c9.io? Will c9.io stick around for very long?

Right now I pay a flat monthly fee for unlimited workspaces. If I migrate to AWS Cloud9 I am charged a fee for each workspace. That doesn’t seem very advantageous to me.

How do I reach my existing Cloud9 account?

I got the same question!

You’ll still be able to log in through https://c9.io/login

Congrats, Cloud9! :confetti_ball:

I’ve been waiting a long time for this, and really believe that AWS Cloud9 will simplify the transition from development to production with services like Lambda. I was also happy to help with the testing, and I think I can answer some questions: