Automatic Synchronization disabled but still syncing in Salesforce workspace

salesforce

#1

I noticed that C9 was automatically synchronizing my Salesforce workspace, even though the first thing I did upon launching the workspace was to turn off automatic synchronization. Screenshot below shows the sync in progress despite Automatic Synchronization being unchecked.

What is triggering the automatic synchronization? And how do I stop it from happening?